Taking a Closer Look at Ambleside Online

The first time I looked at Ambleside Online I was completely overwhelmed. I couldn’t understand the schedule or how one would fit all of it in.

closer look at AO

It seemed like it was overkill and just too difficult to manage, you know making sure that nature study (how do I do that!) was done and composer study (I don’t know any composers!), and picture study (if I don’t know what this painting means how can I teach it to my kids!), and handicraft (handi-what? I hate crafts!), and recitation, and timeline, and mapping…

But then as I was doing my research for first grade, honing in on what curricula to use for this and that and the other, I came across Ambleside once again. I read it. I studied the schedule. I saw how many of the books were available online. I read passages of the books. And it was all coming together.

It just clicked! And it was all so simple. So lovely and rich. And, I’m hooked.

My homeschool journey began about three years ago when hubby and I decided that would be the way to go. I started to research everything I could and found out that I liked Charlotte Mason but I liked Unit Studies too. I found a few different curricula that I loved for history and science that I thought would be perfect for when Elle got to be in second or third grade. There was a bit from this learning style and pieces from that learning style, I could see it coming together. I was going to be an Eclectic homeschooler.

Fast forward through a couple of years of play, a year of Kindergarten, which consisted of inconsistent lessons in phonics and math with lots of books and playing. Just a few short months ago I was ready to get plans laid out for First grade. It was time to add in the science, history, geography and everything else, more formally than what Five in a Row had to offer. You know with a “real” curriculum.

(c) The Armitt Museum and Library; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

(c) The Armitt Museum and Library; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

I wasn’t finding exactly what I wanted for history because the ones I liked were more appropriate for grade three and above. I remember Charlotte Mason and the living book approach. I finally decided on TruthQuest History. I loved that I could decide which books to read and which topics to cover. But there was still missing parts to the plan. I kept on looking around and Charlotte Mason had brought me back to Ambleside Online. I kept hearing great things about it.

As I was reading through the site I wanted to know more; I was getting really excited because it was not only making sense but it was a whole curriculum that I could picture us doing – for years to come.

So, what is Ambleside Online? It is a free homeschool curriculum that uses Charlotte Mason’s classically-based principles to prepare children for a life of rich relationships with everything around them: God, humanity, and the natural world. (Stated on the AO website). This was created as a labor of love by other homeschooling mommas. They offer much more than just a curriculum: original Charlotte Mason writings and materials, a community support forum, articles and posts from experienced homeschool parents and other resources.

Next time I’d like to share how to use Ambleside Online; I’d like to help make it “click” for you too.

 

4 thoughts on “Taking a Closer Look at Ambleside Online

  1. Pingback: Making Ambleside Online “Click!” | Two Bitty Elephants

  2. Pingback: Talking About Kindergarten – Curriculum and How It All Worked Out | Two Bitty Elephants

Comments are closed.