Top Five Finds at the Library

Some more great finds to read to the kiddos!

library finds 7.15.16

In Enzo’s Splendid Gardens by Patricia Polacco- This rhyming tale begins when a bee lands on a tree. The story is repeated and added as each page is turned. It illustrates the ripple effect of one little action and how it causes other actions causing quite a commotion in Enzo’s Splendid Gardens.

Kermit the Hermit by Bill Peet- What a great book to talk about being greedy and selfish and then to talk about generosity and helping others. My kids loved listening to this story.

A Giraffe and a Half by Shel Silverstein- This is fun to read aloud. I love that it’s full of if… then statements which are silly and nonsensical. Another great rhyming book.

James Herriot’s Treasury for Children Illustrated by Ruth Brown and Peter Barrett- My kids LOVED these stories. Elle is quite the animal lover and after hearing each story she urged her brother and I to act them out. They love pretending to be cats and dogs. These are very lovely stories recalled from a veterinarian’s life. The illustrations are beautiful too. They are a bit long, but the kids are so wrapped up in the rich language and engaging story that their attention is kept all the way to the end. I highly recommend this treasury for every family.

Miss Nelson is Missing by Harry Allard and James Marshall- Do you remember this one as a kid? It’s a classic, as in I remember listening to this book when I was in school. I actually had used this as a conversation starter to relate Miss Nelson to myself and that Ms. Viola Swamp may show up as Elle’s teacher if she continued to misbehave. We were having a little difficulty with wanting to pay attention. I think this book helped to illustrate how kids don’t appreciate what they have until it’s gone.

What is a favorite picture book you’ve read lately?

