Top Five Finds from the Library

The Gum Chewing Rattler by Joe Hayes- This was not one of my personal favorites, but my daughter really enjoyed the tall tale – or was it really true? It’s a story about a kid’s encounter with a rattle snake, very interesting.

G is for Goat by Patricia Polacco- An alphabet book all about goats. I love this author/illustrator and everything about her style. So, for me, this alphabet book gets top ratings. ūüėČ

Thank you Mr. Faulker by Patricia Polacco- A true retelling of when the author was in school and could not yet read in 5th grade. It’s a tribute to a teacher who never gave up, and to all teachers who don’t give up on their students. Extraordinary story, encouraging to any reluctant or late reader.

A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Phillip C. Stead- Adorable. A zookeeper who, without fail, takes care of his animals and is quite a friend. He stays home sick one day and his zoo animal friends come for a visit.

Puppy Mudge Takes a Bath¬†by Cynthia Rylant- This series will probably be a well loved series in my house. It’s about a big dog, who wouldn’t love that!? I have put this early reader on the list because Elle read 80% of this all by herself! We have previously¬†read aloud some of the Henry and Mudge series and they are so fun. It’s so difficult to find an early reader that is interesting. I also find it difficult to find the “right” level of reader for my emergent reader. This wasn’t too much, and it was engaging enough for Elle to¬†want to read it.

What was your favorite pick from the Library as a child?

