Friday’s Top Five Finds from the Library (6/12)

library june 12

The Odd One Out by Britta Teckentrup –  This is one of my favorite finds. It’s a spotting book. There are thoughtful rhyming poems accompanying beautiful animal graphics. The poems comprise of tidbits about the animals pictured and questions engaging the reader to find the “odd one out.” There are several animals featured and even a surprise to find on the last page. The kiddos loved it!

Oliver by Syd Hoff – I remember loving reading this author as a kid. I saw this book and knew right away that this was the same author as Danny and the Dinosaur. It’s a classic for your beginner reader.

An ABC of Pirates by Caroline Stills – We aren’t huge fans of pirates but this was a fabulous and fun ABC book. We loved searching the pages finding objects that began with the letter.  Each letter was featured on one page with a short rhyme telling the reader a little about pirates. The illustrations were busy, yet so fun to find the many different objects. In fact, I was not paying close enough attention to see that the pictures were chock full of things beginning with the letter of the page, they were hiding in plain sight!

It’s a Dog’s Life by Michael Morpurgo – Cute story about a day in the life of a dog and shows the special bond between a dog and his owner. My little ones love dogs so this was a winner.

Say Goodbye to Survival Mode by Crystal Paine – Wow! I’m so encouraged and empowered. I’m planning to purchase this one- it’s a great resource to keep available and to lend to friends to read. This is a very practical look at how to wisely manage your time and keep your priorities straight. It took me a little over a month to read through this book because that’s all the pockets of time I made available to reading… I have been experiencing a time of tremendous growth. Growing in my faith, in my marriage, in the way I manage life. And this book has been affirming and helpful. The back cover says “You know you’re made for a more fulfilling life. With this book, you’ll know where to start…” Through this season of growth I have finally learned what I’m here for. This book is a great tool to learn to keep those everyday things under control and to learn how to spend time on what is important. I loved her chapter called “Yes, You Can Make a Difference” because that’s right where I am – learning what I can do to be generous and giving – because it’s not about me. And I hope to tell ya’ll about all of this soon. 😉

What have you found this week at the library?

