Friday’s Top Five Finds from the Library (4/10)

library finds 4.10

The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller – This is a must read for any teacher or homeschooling parent. I checked this out because of another homeschool mom blogger. It is really inspiring to help me become a better reader, to be an example of what a reader looks like, and to create a reading culture in my home. I am beginning to implement a 15 minute silent reading time into our day even though my kids don’t actually read yet. I want them to be in the habit of reading. I want them to have the freedom to choose what they are reading. And I want to make time for my own selections and interests. Although this book is geared towards classroom teachers, there is much to learn and many of the principles and ideas are adaptable to homeschool. I also now have Miller’s newer book Reading in the Wild on my to be read list.

Dear Mr. Blueberry by Simon James – This book is comprised of short letters between Emily and Mr. Blueberry, her teacher. Emily writes that a whale is in her pond and Mr. Blueberry responds with disbelief. As they exchange letters, we see Emily learning a little about whales and we wonder if it’s just her imagination or if the whale is truly in her pond. This is a wonderful, simple way to introduce whales to your little ones. Or a fun read if you are studying whales with your 2nd grader.

The Christmas Cat by Efner Tudor Holmes – Yes, we read a Christmas book in April. The “holiday” section of books is near the play area in our library with the Valentine’s Day themed books teasing Elle every time we go there. She sees all these pink books and peruses them and wants to check them out. So, in an effort to show her other choices I explain that she is looking at the holiday section; we walk along the wall pointing out the different holiday books that are available. Finally, the Christmas section. She picked out three or four books and The Christmas Cat happened to be one of the first ones to read. It’s a precious story of a cat lost in the forest in the middle of winter. The reason we loved this story was the rich vocabulary and the kind, loving spirit of the story.

The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton – We recently read Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel for our Five in a Row book and I remember reading The Little House as a child so I wanted to check it out for Elle. Burton’s stories are timeless, they show how the world is always changing and there is always a bigger lesson to learn. For this one the lesson is to be happy and content where you are. This book is great to see the changing seasons and to learn differences between country living and city life. Absolutely a lovely story to cuddle up with your kiddos and read.

Rocket’s Mighty Words by Tad Hills – I was in the board book section looking for some Duck & Goose books for Finn because they are super fun and I came across this word book. It was a confidence boost for Elle because she was actually reading the words! The illustrations are super cute and adorable and fun. We can’t wait to check out the other Rocket books.

What have you found this week at the library?

