4 Reasons for a Morning Routine

The door is rattling, it’s 5:34am, the two year old is awake and ready to start his day. I am in bed wishing that for just one morning 6:30 would be considered an appropriate time to rise and shine. Finally, I stumble down the hall to open the bedroom door.

reasons for a morning routine

“Mama” he calls out with his arms up. This is the point where, depending on the day my mood, my heart melts at his loving cry or I feel utterly deflated. Knowing that “my time” is gone, I sometimes set him up at my desk to watch Curious George on my computer so that I can steal away a few more moments of sleep. Sometimes, I give him an applesauce cup at the table so that I can get in some time on the computer before my daughter awakens.

Before I know it, everyone is up and ready for me to make breakfast or coffee or help is needed with getting dressed. I make coffee while my hubby is the shower. I find clothes and dress my son. Then, I usually make eggs or pour cereal into bowls for breakfast for the kids and myself (hubby is not a traditional breakfast eater so I’ll make guacamole or he’ll heat up leftovers).

Back to my desk: I want to plan my day, read my Bible, prepare for lessons, and play a little bit in blog-land (reading and writing). A little while later I realize that I have spent entirely too much time at my desk… and I haven’t even showered or dressed myself. Stress and worry ensue. This is NOT how I want to begin my day.

My routine (the one that is written down, not the one that I practice) begins with making coffee, making my bed, making lunches, putting away dishes, and getting dressed by seven o’clock. Then by eight I want to have read my Bible, checked email, and finished doing what I do on the computer. At eight I can begin breakfast and finish chores such as laundry, dusting, vacuuming, and cleaning the bathroom. It’s better to get all that stuff done early so I don’t have to worry about it. If this is all complete by 9:00am when I like to begin school, then I’m a happy camper.

Now that is all great, but over the last couple of months it just was not working for me anymore. I questioned why it wasn’t working and what I needed to change to make it actually feel like I am accomplishing my tasks and getting ready for the day in a reasonable amount of time – AND how to do all of this with little to zero stress.

Reflecting upon my routine made me realize that I had not factored in a very important piece, or two important pieces who run around with wants and needs calling me Mommy. My “perfect” routine consisted of me doing desk duties, things that tend to require a little more focus, right in the middle of the morning scramble! No wonder things aren’t working.

Here are 4 reasons for a morning routine:

1. To ensure that quiet time with God happens. Every day.

2. To provide a time to shower and get dressed. Because we moms tend to spend more time on the little people in our lives. And let’s be honest, making an effort to be dressed (sweats don’t count) can really boost your confidence and make you feel super terrific.

3. To prepare and plan for my day. The day just works better when I know what’s on the agenda.

4. To complete a few key tasks. There are a few which can help keep the day moving along smoothly if they are done ahead of time.

These are things that have to happen to start the day right. And these reasons are why it’s so important for me to attain a working morning routine.

Routines don’t have to be confined to strict time limitations, but they do provide structure. This framework creates a flow or rhythm: do task one, do task two, etc. Once in place, a routine naturally gets you doing what needs to get done. You know what is first, what’s next, and what’s last. Chaos is avoided because you and your kids know the order things should go. Without a routine you never know what you’re gonna get.

Stick with me to see what changes I’ve made in my morning routine in an upcoming post.

But for now… Do you have a morning routine? How do you start your day?

Sharing at Homeschool Mother’s Journal

The Homeschool Mother's Journal

 

15 thoughts on “4 Reasons for a Morning Routine

  1. When I taught at classical co-op, I spent time every single weekday morning with my Greek textbook so I could stay ahead of the students. With that constant, I was able to add a few other habits around it.
    I think it worked because it was something I HAD to do. I’m looking forward to hearing what changes you’ve made.
    ~Lee

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing! I think if I had to chose only ONE thing to do it would be a shower and getting dressed in real clothes, lol. After that I am awake and can do all the other things that should and need to get done.

      Like

  2. We have a ‘life routine’; everyday pretty much runs the same, so our kids know what to expect. When things need to go ‘off-course’, we make sure the kids understand this a day in advance and know what to expect. This just works best for everyone.

    I always start off the day a little earlier than our kids. I shower, pray, and do a few things. Then, I wake the kiddos and the day begins. 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, I like to start my day earlier than the kiddos too, but often my son is the early bird waking around 5:30-6 so I can’t see me getting up too much earlier than that. But I’m sure as he gets older he’ll “sleep in.” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you have a morning routine? How do you start your day?
    The answer to both is yes – COFFEE – and most usually an hour to think and
    visit with my husband. Then the boys are up, breakfast, homeschool, outside – in
    other words, off and running for the day.

    Like

    • Coffee and hubby time are a great way to start the day. Whoever is up first makes the coffee, we joke that we can’t function until we have coffee.

      Like

    • Yes, and it seems that as soon as we perfect a routine (or I figure out the best discipline for the kids) things change and we have to figure it out all over again. But knowing and expecting that change is inevitable makes it easier.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my…isn’t that ever so true! I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels like we are forever having to adjust our routine. 🙂 But I think you’re right that knowing and expecting that it will change can make it easier.

        Like

      • I am NOT a morning person at all. We do have a small morning routine but I get most prep things done at night after kids go to bed…. quiet time with God, layout clothes for next day, prepare lunches and prep breakfast, ect…. I have tried so many times waking up earlier than the kids (before 7) and it works for a day or two but then I struggle getting up. Finally one day it hit me, why am I trying so hard to change who I am. I am clearly a night owl so do what I need to than 😀 and trust me if I don’t and things are not in order for the morning ugh…it is usually a rough day

        Like

        • Love that you know what works for you and that you do that. And I agree, whether you wake up early or not, getting things ready the night before like clothes, lunches, and even plans for the next day make it so much easier.

          Like

  4. Pingback: The Homeschool Mother’s Journal {April 18, 2015} - Managing Your Blessings

  5. Pingback: Reading “My ABC Bible Verses” in your Homeschool | Two Bitty Elephants

Comments are closed.