First Blog Post

Hot coffee. Sitting at my desk. Resnowpathading a book, a blog, or my Bible. That’s how my day is supposed to begin. Nah, I’ll just get up at 3:30am instead. Change my son’s diaper, and pajamas. Persuade my daughter that the sun isn’t up yet so she needs to keep sleeping. Listen to the tidbit my husband just remembered to tell me. I mostly managed to sneak in a little more sleep until 6:00am. Oh I am just not good at functioning with interrupted sleep. That’s okay though. We are all on the mend from the cold, flu, stomach bug (hence the changing of diaper AND pajamas), whatever it is we’re fighting. And today was another great snow day.

Took the kids to the grandparent’s for a little sledding. A mountain of snow was literally piled up high waiting for us. I can’t remember the last time I went sledding. I do remember as a kid that our house had a very nice sloped backyard. I would make different paths to sled down… curvy paths, bumpy paths, super-fast paths. I could spend hours making it just right. I was quite surprised that my daughter spent maybe only 10 minutes playing in the snow and my son just wanted to watch from the porch. It was nice to get a little fresh air and some exercise trying to walk up or crawl up the hill. I’m hoping this week the temperature will creep back up to at least the mid 30’s. We can try to go outside again – maybe make a new snowman.

This winter is beginning to wear on me. I have been completely off my routine. It’s been super cold. The kids are fighting sicknesses. And we have been indoors too much. I believe that being outside is the best thing for a kid, well anyone, really. Sunshine and fresh air can help to reset you. But I’ll settle for a short walk from car to store. I find that I have to get everyone out of the house to keep energized. A trip to the library or over to meet our friends for homeschool group each week has helped. Every once in a while I even sneak in a trip to Target, because it’s just fun to look at all the pretty things.

Well, the kids are in bed, hubby is out with friends, I have my cup of tea, and I’m taking it one day at a time.

What do you do to keep the winter blues away?

